NECJOGHA seeks to enhance interaction between climate scientists and journalists in the Greater Horn of Africa. Read more...

VISAS DENY DELEGATES ATTENDING POZNAN CONFERENCE

For immediate release: International Institute for Environment and Development and Climate Change Media Partnership

EUROPEAN VISA OBSTACLES EXCLUDE MANY FROM UN CLIMATE TALKS

Representatives of some of the world's poorest countries have been excluded from the UN climate change negotiations underway in Poland because of delays getting visas, which occurred despite the host country and the Schengen region having a full year to prepare its consulates.

World Meteorological Organization Secretary General Comments on UNFCCC

M. Jarraud, WMO Secretary-General, comments on the Occasion
of the UNFCCC Fourteenth Conference of Parties
(1 – 12 December 2008, Poznan, Poland)

Climate information protects lives and livelihoods

EUROPEAN CLIMATE DEAL PRAISED

UNFCCC CHIEF WELCOMES EU DEAL ON CLIMATE

The Executive Secretary of the United Nations Framework Convention on
Climate Change (UNFCCC), Yvo de Boer, welcomed the news that the European
Union has reached an agreement on climate change.

"The European Union's climate deal sends a clear message to the
negotiations in Poznan and onwards to Copenhagen that difficult roadblocks
can be overcome and resolved," he said.

"This is a sign of developed countries' resolve and courage that the world
has been waiting for in Poznan! It shows the world that ambitious emission

Rising Natural Disasters Increasing With Climate Change Challenge

[img_assist|nid=123|title=Utter Destruction Due To Harsh Weather|desc=|link=node|align=left|width=100|height=66]UNEP Finance Initiative Members Underline Industry Role in Renewables to Current and Future Forest Carbon Projects

Poznan, 10 December 2008—Weather-related natural disasters are now outstripping ones linked with earthquakes by an ever widening factor, the UN Environment Programme (UNEP) and insurers said today.

FARMERS' OPTIONS & OBSTACLES TO ADAPTING TO CLIMATE CHANGE

December 10, 2008, Press Release: New Study Identifies Ethiopian Farmers' Options and Obstacles to Adapting to Climate Change

Addis Ababa-The vast majority of African farmers interviewed for a recent climate change study perceived long-term changes in both temperature and rainfall. Surprisingly, however, more than a third of rural Ethiopian households in the Nile River Basin and two-thirds of South African farmers did not make any adjustments to their farming practices in the face of global warming.

Combating climate change and boosting growth are natural allies

Combating climate change and boosting growth are natural allies

Poznan, Poland, December 8, 2008 (IUCN) – Accelerated action on energy savings and the scrapping of fossil fuel subsidies are the two top actions needed to combat climate change and spur economic recovery.

The findings of this survey of climate decision makers in the private, public and civil society sectors underline their overwhelming view that combating climate change is a pro-growth, pro-economic recovery policy.

Construction Industry and Climate Change

Embargoed: not for publication or broadcast until after 12:00 noon GMT
on 6 December 2008

Boosting the 'Green House' Effect—CDM Reform Key to Climate-Friendly Building and Construction Sector

Cost Effective Carbon Savings Possible from Built Environment
Says UNEP-Backed Report

Poznan/Nairobi, 6 December 2008 – The huge potential of the building and construction sector for combating climate change remains virtually untapped, a new report by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) has found.

CLIMATE CHANGE MEDIA PARTNERSHIP IN POZNAN-POLAND

[img_assist|nid=116|title=Too much rain leading to destruction|desc=|link=node|align=right|width=100|height=57]
Climate Change Media Partnership
Climate-change media boost for millions of the most vulnerable

Millions of people at high risk from climate change will get vital information they need thanks to an initiative that today named 40 journalists from 33 developing countries who it will bring to the UN negotiations in Poznan, Poland in December.

MALARIA VACCINE ADVANCING IN AFRICA-NEW ENGLAND JOURNAL OF MEDICINE

NEW ORLEANS, December 8, 2008—Results published online today in the New England Journal of Medicine revealed that the world’s most clinically advanced malaria vaccine candidate provides both infants and young children with significant protection against malaria. Two separate phase II trials reaffirmed earlier study results and support the ongoing efforts, pending regulatory approvals, to launch the phase III study of GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) Biologicals’ RTS,S/AS vaccine candidate across Africa.[i],[ii]

FOCUS CLIMATE CHANGE DEBATE ON WOMEN

Focus climate change debate on women

Poznan, Poland, 8 December, 2008 (IUCN) – Women’s lives are more at risk than men’s because of climate change, according to IUCN.

Climate change will affect all countries, but poor women in developing countries will be disproportionately affected. Despite this, most of the UNFCCC debate on climate so far has been gender-blind.

URGENT: Press Release on Malaria Vaccine

**** MEDIA ADVISORY ****

Telephone Briefing To The Press
Monday, December 8, 2008 at 14:30 GMT

(8:30 a.m. New Orleans / 9:30 a.m. NYC / 2:30 p.m. London / 3:30 p.m. Brussels )

**EMBARGOED until 1600 GMT on 8 December 2008

(8:00 a.m. Seattle / 11:00 a.m. NYC / 4:00 p.m. London / 5:00 p.m. Brussels / 6:00 p.m. Johannesburg / 7:00 p.m. Nairobi )**

New results on world’s most clinically advanced

malaria vaccine candidate to be reported in

The New England Journal of Medicine

Alert!!!! Register For Media Briefing

Adapting to Climate Change: Farmers’ Options and Obstacles, Insights from Ethiopia & South Africa

MEDIA ADVISORY: Press Briefing for Journalists

Adapting to Climate Change: Farmers’ Options and Obstacles, Insights from Ethiopia & South Africa

Ethiopian Adaptation to Climate Change Conference

MEDIA ADVISORY: Press Briefing for Journalists

Adapting to Climate Change: Farmers’ Options and Obstacles, Insights from Ethiopia & South Africa

Ethiopian Climate Change Conference

Dear Colleagues,
There is a Climate Change Conference organised by the International Food Policy Reseqarch Institute taking place in Ethiopia , Addis Ababa in December 2008. There will be a Press Media Briefing on December 10th and all journalists interested in Ethiopia and the region should follow the following link to get a number of Climate Change Briefs from IFPRI.

http://www.ifpri.org/pubs/ib/rb15.asp

Patrick Luganda

Geo Journalism

Geojournalism is a new exciting branch of media reporting would be quite interesting for all of you. Please take time to check out this website which has been developed by a Journalist colleague from Brazil based in London.
http://geojournalism.wordpress.com/
http://geojournalism.wordpress.com/

In case you have any queries or questions to ask contact Gustavo Faleiros at the following e-mail address

gustavo.faleiros@gmail.com

Please try it out and see how you can apply the geo graphics to your media.

Patrick